Brilliant or stupid?

INTPs love ideas. We love ideas for their own sake. Why pursue happiness when you can pursue ideas? These ideas don’t have to be practical or useful to be beautiful. We are known for having numerous hobbies and projects, and an absolutely dismal completion rate for these projects. When we stick to one thing for an extended amount of time, we tend to get bored and end up switching to something else. The saying “the proof is in the pudding” does not seem to apply to us, because coming up with the idea is often enough satisfaction for us as it is. Taking such tendencies to the extreme, such as too frequently allowing the brain its dopamine hit without actually having achieved anything, can lead to problems such as chronic procrastination, addictive behaviors, and attention disorders. Another natural consequence of our admiration for ideas, especially if we don’t engage in enough disciplined practice, is that we don’t get as good at carrying out our elaborate plans. This means that when we have an exceptionally precious idea, that we’re determined to bring to life without question, there may well be a deficit in skill and a resulting mismatch between what we dreamed and what we end up with.

Enthusiasm, ideals, optimism, and naivety are usually what inspire me to make my ideas happen. But the work involved is almost always harder than initially imagined, and what tends to happen is that I trade in my feelings for that logical state to keep me focused. At some point near completion, I’ll realize I’ve lost the ability to appreciate the beauty and context of the original idea. Maybe my work disappoints me. Maybe the idea was silly all along—how did I ever think this idea was genius?

Feelings become inaccessible. Introspection is silent. Emotions do not compute. But I’ve come so far and put so much into the work; I can finish it and I might as well. Trust in the self that could see the beautiful forest before, even if I can only see ugly trees now. The idea always turns out to be brilliant or stupid, and before you finish the project both outcomes seem simultaneously probable. What is this, quantum physics? Why can’t the idea just be mediocre? Why does sustained effort always have this emotional cost?

Author: vtyw

I'm me. Are you me too?

Leave a Reply

